Sweet Potato, Spinach & Feta Frittata

As much as I enjoy a challenge in the kitchen, the other day when my husband came home and announced he had been advised to try a low FODMAP diet, I got a little stressed.

A couple of things popped into my mind, with the first being…

What the hell is a FODMAP diet?

And then, upon conducting some research…

How the hell am I supposed to cook without onions and garlic?!?!

Talk about a challenge. As it turns out, a lot of the things we normally eat are not allowed on a low FODMAP diet, but the one that really got to me is the garlic, because GARLIC IS LIFE. In fact, this is so ingrained in my subconscious that I have actually been having dreams about garlic. I’m not even joking — for the past two nights my dreams have been focused around garlic. Weird, I know! But it just goes to show how much I love those tasty little bulbs of goodness.

Anyway, being the good wife (and chief cook) that I am, I decided to give it my best shot. I also figured I would take the easy road to start with, and make something that wouldn’t normally require any garlic. And this here frittata is the result. Not a bad effort, right? It turned out rather nicely, if I do say so myself, and the chives made for a nice onion substitute.

FODMAPs aside, this is super simple recipe that anyone can enjoy, and makes for a quick and easy dinner or lunch. So let’s get you that recipe, shall we?

Frittata

You’ll need:

8 free range eggs
1/4 cup soy milk*
1 sweet potato, peeled & diced into 1cm cubes
1 handful baby spinach
2tbsp fresh chives, chopped
50g feta cheese
1 tsp sweet smoked paprika
2 tbsp olive oil
Salt & pepper
Olive oil spray

Preheat the oven to 180Β°C.

Start by tossing the sweet potato cubes in 1 tablespoon of olive oil, along with the paprika and some salt and pepper, until well coated. Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a frypan over medium heat, and fry off the potato until slightly caramelised and softened. Remove from the heat and set aside.

In a bowl, lightly whisk the eggs and soy milk, then crumble in the feta cheese and add the spinach and chives. Season with salt and pepper and mix to combine.

Lightly spray a 25cm pie / quiche / flan dish (whatever really, just something round and shallow) with olive oil spray. Spread the sweet potato evenly across the base of the dish, then pour over the egg, spinach & chives mix. Give the dish a little wriggle to ensure the egg gets right to the bottom.

Bake in the oven for around 20 minutes, or until just set. Then (if you feel like it), place under the grill for a couple of minutes to brown the top a little more. This step is totally optional, but I feel like it’s worth the extra effort.

Serve straight away or store in the fridge for no more than 1-2 days.

*If following a low FODMAP diet make sure you use soy milk that is made from soy protein, not soy beans.

One Comment Add yours

  1. This looks so fresh and delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

