The Redemption Salad

I’m not ashamed to admit (ok maybe just a little) that I was a fat little piggy last week / weekend; eating and drinking pretty much anything and everything without any trace of remorse. That said, after stuffing my face with burgers and beer and whatever else I could get my hands on I woke up feeling like an utter piece of crap on Monday morning, and told myself I would get back on the health train right away.

Enter, the redemption salad. Much like my eating habits last week, this is an anything-and-everything-goes kind of salad, and pretty much involves throwing whatever grains / vegetables you feel like into a bowl and topping them off with a tasty dressing.

Redemption Salad

My salad comprised of:

Black wild rice
Carrot
Beetroot
Snow peas
Chick peas
Fresh peas
Red capsicum
Pistachios
Dill
Juice of Β½ a lemon

For the dressing I whisked equal parts olive oil and red wine vinegar with a teaspoon of dijon mustard and seasoned with salt and pepper.

If you fancy something different you could try quinoa, farro, or brown rice instead of wild rice, and swap out the veg for your personal favourites. Basically, scope out what’s in the fridge and make it your own!

If this doesn’t make you feel good about yourself I don’t know what will.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

