Miso Fried Rice

Ok, so I’ll just come out and say that I’m really not a huge fan of rice. Give me a giant bowl of pasta any day. However, I sometimes find myself in situations where I’ve got a bunch of veggies wasting away in the fridge that are screaming for me to use them, and fried rice always seems like an easy way to get rid of them all at once. Are you happy now, screaming vegetables?

Generally I stick with a basic sauce combo of soy sauce, sesame oil and Sriracha, but this time I thought I’d fancy things up with a Japanese twist and add a bit of red miso. Have to say, it tasted pretty damn good — so good in fact, that I thought I’d share it here.

I know, I know, I can already hear my non-vegetarian readers having a sad about the tofu factor, but fear not, my meat eating friends, this recipe works just as well with some cubed chicken breast. And if you don’t like tofu OR chicken, just get rid of it and substitute with extra veggies, like cauliflower, snow peas, bok choy etc.

Here’s what you’ll need:
1 cup brown rice, cooked (preferably left in the fridge overnight)
250g firm organic tofu, chopped into 1cm cubes
2 large cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 thumb-sized piece ginger, finely grated
4 small spring onions, chopped
1 small head broccoli, chopped into small florets
2-3 handfuls chopped kale

You’ll also need:
Vegetable or peanut oil
Sriracha chilli sauce
Soy sauce
Sesame oil
White pepper
Red miso paste

Miso Fried Rice

Briefly marinate the tofu with a squeeze of Sriracha, a decent sprinkle of white pepper, a splash of soy sauce and a few drops of sesame oil. Then leave it to do its thing while you prepare your vegetables.

Next, heat 1 tablespoon of vegetable or peanut oil in a large frypan over medium-high heat, and fry off the tofu cubes until golden brown. Remove and set aside. In the same pan, add a little more oil if needed, then add the garlic, ginger and spring onions, frying briefly until just golden, before throwing in the broccoli and kale along with a splash of water, to get some steam going.

Once the vegetables are nice and bright green, retaining some crunch but not too much, add the cooked rice and miso paste, stirring well to incorporate. If it’s looking a little dry, just add another splash of water to liven things up again. At this point you can add the cooked tofu back into the mix, and finish off with a splash of soy sauce and a few drops of sesame oil.

Serves 4, or 2 if you’re super hungry!

Leave a Reply

