On Toast: Avocado

If there’s a better breakfast than avocado on toast out there, I’d love to hear about it. Actually, scratch that — I don’t even need to know, because for me, nothing can possibly beat it. I can be found happily munching away on creamy, toasty goodness at least a few times a week, making slight variations every now and then to keep things interesting. And today I thought, fuck, why am I being so selfish?? I should be sharing my avocado prowess with the whole goddam world. So, here you have a few of my very favourite ways to chow down for breakfast / brunch / whenever the mood strikes. All you need is a ripe av, some crusty bread and a little imagination.

First up, my absolute favourite combination: Avocado with Hummus and Piri Piri Seasoning. Yes I took a bite, no I’m not sorry.

To make this bad boy, simply toast your bread then spread with a nice layer of hummus, top with avocado and finally sprinkle over the Piri Piri seasoning, along with some salt  and pepper. This mexican-ey spice mix is one of my absolute favourites, made up mostly of chilli, lemon, garlic and herbs. If you can’t find it (*gasp*), then just replace with some chilli flakes or even lemon pepper. That said, I’d really encourage you to seek out the real deal — there’s nothing like a good Piri Piri kick to start your day.

Avocado w/ Hummus & Piri Piri

Another great classic, is Avocado with Vegemite and Lemon. Well, at least it’s a classic if you’re from Australia.

Start once again by toasting your bread, spread generously with Vegemite (so, more than you would normally have), top with sliced avocado, season with salt and pepper and serve with some lemon wedges. Squeeze those suckers over just before you bite in. Delicious!

Vegemite

And last but not least, we have Avocado with Baby Tomatoes & Fresh Chilli. Can you tell I like chilli? ‘Cause I really, really do.

For this last installment, you’ll again be toasting your bread. Then mash on some avocado and nestle in some halved baby tomatoes (whichever variety your like) and top with fresh red chilli, salt and pepper. Go for a long chilli, unless you really want to blow your head off.

Avocado w/ Kumato & Chilli

So there you have it, my top 3 ways to eat avocado on toast. As you can see, sometimes I like to change up my bread. Anything with a good crunchy crust will do the trick, just please, PLEASE don’t use that awful pre-sliced supermarket bread! You and your avocado both deserve better.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Emma says:

    Is that Zeally bay sourdough in the photo? It’s my favourite to go with avo toast. Great photos.

    Like

    1. Peet says:

      Thank you! It’s actually just a light rye from my local bakery, but now you’ve got Zeally Bay on my mind 🙂 Might be time for a roadtrip…

      Like

  2. elliebleu says:

    I love what you said about choosing a bread that you deserve 😉 Although sometimes I get dave’s killer bread at the store for all the added grains. Otherwise, I’m all for a good crunchy crust.

    Like

Leave a Reply

